Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2011 has been a good year in terms of discovering a lot of good stuff that are now my staples and I am very excited to share these with you.

Before listing all the favourites of skin care, I should mention my skin type to give you a better idea why I love these products and what they achieve for me. I have combination, dehydrated, acne – prone skin which has never been easy to maintain. However with the below skin care routine, I happened to discover over the last year, my skin is in its best condition since years.

Bioderma Crealine H2O Micelle Solution: This is the most gentle make up remover ever! It is soap, alcohol and fragrance – free, specially formulated for sensitive skin and eyes!

Simply, soak a cotton pad and remove your make up in less than a minute. Much more effective than the wipes and as practical. You don’t even have to rinse it afterwards. I highly recommend this especially during cold winter months when our skin needs milder care.

It is widely available in Swiss and French pharmacies and retails around 12 Euros for 500 ml.

Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser: Back in June, I have been to London for a long weekend and as I read and watched so many good reviews about this, I stopped by John Lewis to buy one. Since then I literally, can not live without it.

The starter kit comes with two muslin cloths and 100 ml of product (retails around 14 GBP). A thick cream formula which has quite natural herbal scent to it. This product works wonders, that I can swear by.

It is suitable for all skin types. Cleansing thoroughly and exfoliating (polishing) mildly your skin everyday. Leaving behind the brightest, softest skin to adore.

Step 1: Massage the cleanser on to your dry skin.

Step 2: Rinse the muslin cloth with hand – hot water and wipe off the cream.

Step 3: Splash face with cool water.

Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado: Although I am 33 years old, and dying to use anti – aging products, for some reason, I’m allergic to them. Seriously, any eye cream that says ‘anti – aging’ on the label, leaves my under eye area itchy and irritated and if I insist on using them for more than a couple of days, I get red patches around my eyes. My dermatologist suggested that this might be due to vitamin C intolerance. Long story short, this rich, creamy eye cream by Kiehl’s is my favourite since 6 months now. It is very much hydrating and not irritating at all. I will for sure repurchase this one going forward. Another reason that this has been my favourite is that it does not migrate in to your eyes. This is fantastic as majority of the eye creams, applied right before sleep, ends up in your eyes and leaves you with red eyes in the morning. It is on the expensive side in Europe (retails around 60 CHF in Switzerland).

Kiehl’s Ultimate Strenght Hand Salve: Far the best hand cream I’ve ever tried.

It is protecting hands over the cold winter months. Quite good formula which doesn’t leave your hands sticky, greasy after the application. No scent to it. Office AC friendly 🙂 as heavy scented hand creams end up waking up colleagues around you, asking you what this smell is…

Highly recommended! Retails around 29 CHF (14.90 GBP). It is not that bad considering the time it lasts (I’m still using the one that I bought 7 months ago).

Caudalie Lip Conditioner: This is my every day go – to lip balm which I find quite hydrating and repairing. It has a very light, hardly noticeable vanilla scent to it. It is not leaving your lips on the white side as Casper. Very easy on the go, in your hand bag and quite hard working product in terms of healing.

 

 

Weleda – Iris Hydrating Facial Lotion: I bought this one about 3 months ago and have been using every morning as a daily moisturizer and make up primer since then. It has a strong iris scent to it when first applied however it disappears the next minute. It leaves my skin soft and hydrated for make up. Especially for winter, this will be my everyday moisturizer. However I am not quite sure how it will behave during warm, summer months.

These are the best of 2011 for me when it comes to skin care.

A few body products favourites would be; Lush – Dream Cream, Palmers Cooa Butter Formula body and hand lotion, Lush Lip Scrub in Bubblegum…

I hope you find this post helpful. Soon, Hang on Beauty’s Best of 2011 – Make up will follow.

Take care!

Deniz

