Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Better late than never, here I am with my favourite make-up items of 2011.

I have to say I changed my taste in make – up over the past year. I moved from heavy coverage to light/medium coverage foundations, from mocha tones to more sheer tones of pinks and peaches in blushes, from smokey eye make – ups to more subtle shades, plums, light browns on the crease just to contour the eye… I really enjoyed the No Make up Make up looks to achieve, and using colours that are more natural, just to catch a healthy glow all year around.

Chanel Vitalumiere Acqua Foundation SPF15: I adore this foundation! Very natural, skin like finish that stays on and provides good coverage. The variety of shades are limited however they managed to create shades that are versatile, can suit more than one skin tone. I’m in B20 – Beige Tendre and is a perfect match. Best way to apply would be with fingers and I usually use my Shiseido foundation brush (flat top, dense foundation brush) which works just as well. Downsides are the price (retails around 33 GBP,  39 Euros) and the alcohol and parabens it contains. I highly recommend this foundation for the most natural look you can get but it is always safer to get a sample first to make sure you are not allergic to any of the ingredients including alcohol.

Laura Mercier Mineral Pressed Powder SPF15: I am not much of a powder girl 🙂 I really prefer dewy, healthy looking skin and majority of the powders intend to give you a dull complexion. However this one is great! 100% natural ingredients, sheer finish, oil free with SPF, water resistant formula… It delivers all I ask for from a descent powder. I highly recommend to check this one out. It lasts quite a long time which justifies the price of 70 CHF (around 31 GBP). It provides good coverage with a good colour range which can be used alone on some lazy days, just as good. Depending on the coverage you want, you can switch the brushes from kabuki to regular fluffy powder brush. I personally use this to set the foundation so I dust really small amount with powder brush all over my face which also makes the powder blush glides on easily.

NARS Eyeshadow Duo – Charade: This matte duo is amazing especially if you have brown eyes. The formula is definitely crease – free, blends effortlessly and colour selection flatters your eyes, making them pop. This is my fail – safe, everyday go – to eyeshadow duo. I can achieve day or night time looks easily, buildable. I am a big fan of Nars eyeshadow formulas and colour selections. Love it!

MAC Blush – Well Dressed: This colour is fantastic! A very very sheer cool pink, that is hardly there. The effect it gives is as if you have a fading blush on your cheeks which I love for everyday look. Colour pay off, pigmentation might be too sheer for you if you like your blush to pop up. I would recommend for paler skins during winter time especially to have the illusion of healthy glow.

Laura Mercier Thickening and Building Mascara: This is the best ever mascara I ever tried! It comes only in black. Very natural finish as if you are not wearing mascara at all. Not clumping, not drying which allows you full 6 months of use. Comparing to other drugstore/highstreet mascaras, it is worth to pay the difference if you are up to natural, thick lashes. I am alternating this one with Maybelline Full and Soft Mascara which is as well very good for my taste. When it comes to mascaras, I am a little picky. My eyes are really sensitive and can get itchy and both of these mascaras are the ones I am most comfortable with during the day and at night while trying to remove my make up.

Dior Lip Glow SPF 10: Colour awakening lip balm. This is a very unique product with a formula that enhances the natural lip colour and gives you a customized colour of your own lips. Brilliant idea for women like me, having quite pigmented lip colour, I can’t always go for nudes, pinks which can make me look washed. I’m loving this one especially during summer, for fuller, fresher lips, hydrated and healthy. The second favourite of mine during 2011 has been the Chanel Coco Rouge Shine in colour 54 – Boy. It is also very subtle pink colour with right amount of shimmer for any season, any time of the day, quite versatile.

Et voila! Will see you soon and until then take care!

Deniz