Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

January 31st. It is time for my first monthly favourites post.

Today, I woke up in to a snow white morning. The scenery was beautiful but who would have thought, I had to wait for the bus for about 45 minutes… Looking at the deep white reflection of snow, slowly but surely becoming a part of this scenery myself… When I made it to the office, I was frozen, all wet.

Although I like winters with snow, there are circumtances. Skin gets really dry, stressed due to the cold weather and air conditioning, lips get chapped, hair gets dull. So maintenance is highly required over these days…

I have a couple of favourites and tips that I find quite useful these days, so let’s jump in to my Jan 12 favourites.

Lucas Papaw Ointment: This is a multi – purpose Australian product which is quite thick and rich in consistency. There is a slight fruity scent to it. It is good for almost all sorts of skin problems (burns, boils, chafing, cuts, open wounds, insect bites, rashes etc) and when it comes to seriously chapped lips, this works wonders. Although it is hard to get, I highly recommend this product. Available online from some UK web sites and it is quite affordable, too. I use it on a regular basis during winter months on my lips, any irritated area on my cheeks and as a cuticle cream. It is also great product to soothe the skin after face – waxing.

Bath Gloves:  These bath gloves are a perfect way to convert any shower gel/cream to a gentle exfoliator. Helps to get rid of the dead skin cells and leaves a soft skin behind. 3 – 5 minutes massage in the shower, you are good to go! Easy and effective way to skip buying an extra product (scrubs, exfoliators) and one less step in your routine. They are available almost each and every supermarket, pharmacy. Mine are from Body Shop 🙂

MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural: I am loving MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural in Medium this month. It is such an invisible powder, which leaves the skin silky and sets the make up perfectly. Not drying, not emphasizing dry flakes, somehow controlling oil throughout the day and fantastic for touch ups. I highly recommend this one, too. The coverage is too light to be used by its own, I normally dust a little on liquid foundation to finish off. And as well it prepares a nice and smooth base for any powder blush.

Jemma Kidd Light as Air Foundation: I ordered Jemma Kidd Light as Air online (from Beautybay) early this month and using it since two weeks. Although a little early to comment, I’m really happy with what it delivers, the coverage, finish and the stay power is quite good. Not dewy, not matte, in between, skin like effect. It lasts on my face all day (around 10 hours). The only *potential* issue is that I have active break outs going on since last week. I don’t know if it is due to this foundation or if my skin is irritated for some other reason. I will keep you posted with the results on a separate review.

Last but not least,

Lush Dream Cream: It is Lush’s best selling product. Although quite light in texture, very nutritive for sensitive skin. It has a noticeable herbal scent to it which I am sure not everybody’s taste. I love the scent ’cause it feels very organic (if it makes sense), kind of old school and medical. My skin stays fully moisturized and soft for at least 2 days (that’s the longest I last without taking a shower).

That seems to be the end of it for this month. Hope to see you soon with another post to come and till then take care!

Deniz

